licking the wine glass

photo by Adrian Geronimo

It was my brother’s birthday yesterday. I wanted to say a little something in his honor, and the first thing that came to mind is his photography.

The picture above is of our little niece Allison, taken at my wedding in 2009. I can’t remember exactly what was going on there, but clearly she’s being rebellious, judging by that sideways gleam she has in her eyes. Also, this is clearly going to be the type of photo that will show up at her 18th birthday party, her bridal shower, her wedding video. I’m probably not helping by posting it on my blog, but how often do you get to see a little girl licking the outside of a wine glass?

I see a lot of people who own nice cameras, and then think they can be a photographer. They learn all the terminology, they walk around with their fancy lenses and their tripods, snapping shots of sunsets and street signs in macro view and funky angles. Yet I’m a little critical. Being a photographer is so much more than capturing colors and lines. Everything that goes into a photograph is meant to convey a message that can’t be seen. It’s like singing a silent song or painting a portrait of the wind. A good photograph makes you not just see something, but feel something. Therefore, a good photographer uses their camera to capture things that we don’t see with our eyes, but with our hearts.

I’ve been spoiled. I share a lot of great moments with my brother, and I know I’ll always be able to relive them through his photography. However, I get to relive them in higher quality because his gift is to capture in photos the things that our senses can’t hold on to. Love. Childhood. Beauty. Life. A photograph captured by lesser talent would be like licking the wine glass. My brother’s photographs let me taste the wine. And I couldn’t be more lucky, grateful and proud.

Want to taste the wine? Click here to see more of his photographs.

Leave a Reply

