song blog: till i love

Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone! Since we’re celebrating love today, I thought I would share a rough take of a little song I wrote called “Till I Love”. I’m still figuring out how to DIY these recordings, so I hope you’ll bear with me while I’m getting better at it. Enjoy!

Till I Love
© 2016 Music and Lyrics by Renee Maranan

I could speak with persuasion and sing with the voices of the angels
And have nothing
I could see into the future and explain away the mysteries of the ages
And be a fool
I could move entire mountains or give everything I have into the roaring flames
And stay empty

Till I love the way my heart was made to love
Till I love the way my heart was made to love

I am envious and boastful, ever prone to being arrogant and thoughtless
But still you chose me
I am prideful, impatient, and forever finding reasons and excuses
But still you’re here
Though I’m always falling short or over-reaching, still you’re holding on and teaching me
To keep going

Till I love the way my heart was made to love
Till I love the way my heart was made to love

‘Cause words burn and fade, but love never ends
It makes way where the human heart may fail
So I am trading in my childish ways for love to begin
To change me
Till I love the way my heart was made to love
Till I love the way my heart was made to love
To love

You are patient and kind, you are forgiving and true, you are amazing
You are strong, you are hopeful and enduring of it all
You are unfailing
I may fall and make mistakes, but I will bend before I break
And I will stay with you if you’ll keep me

Till I love the way my heart was made to love
Till I love the way my heart was made to love
Till I love the way my heart was made to love

One thought on “song blog: till i love

  1. Beautiful and powerful rendition of Paul’s Hymn to God who is Love.
    One weakness begging change is “And I will stay with you if you’ll keep me”.
    God’s love is absolutely unconditional.
    Father Gabriel OP

Leave a Reply

